Posted by: judysbuzz | March 25, 2011

Cool Pop-up Coffee Shop!

This is my first foodie blog about Kauai. There are so many interesting places to eat here on Kauai but sometimes they are a little hard to find. I live on the North Shore so I’m going to start my blogs here but will also write about other wonderful places for foodies around the entire island.

We have a cool ‘pop-up’ cupcake and muffin shop that serves a GREAT cup of coffee and fresh baked pastries. This is the best place on the North Shore to go for morning coffee and pastries. This is in a secret location that is easy to get to if you are on the walking path in Princeville. The person runs it out of her home (Shhh) in Princeville and it is open from 8:00 A.M. until 11:00 A.M.

Since the North Shore of Kauai is so beautiful I enjoy a morning walk on the path in Princeville. The views are spectacular and the morning trade winds sound amazing as they blow through the palm trees.

I found this secret ‘pop-up’ coffee shop just by word-of-mouth and decided to walk over for a visit. I was delighted to find her modest little coffee shop right inside her home. It’s like walking into grandma’s kitchen and sitting down for some fresh brewed coffee and a baked goodie right out of the oven. What a find! I live here and often complain about the lack of good coffee shops so when I found this delightful little place I put it at the top of my ‘Foodie’ list. Oh BTW it’s also very affordable by Hawaii standards.

My favorite cupcakes are her Red Velvet with Cream Cheese Frosting and my favorite muffins are her Vegan Banana Muffins which she makes with local bananas. YUM!

Okay here is the way you find her… Tweet her @SecretCoffeeHI and make a reservation for your first visit. Once you have found her you are welcome to drop-in between 8:00 AM and 11:00 AM Monday thru Satruday. Never open on Sundays.

The delicious Strawberry Buttercream cake she was serv.ing this morning

Strawberry Buttercream Vanilla Cake - Sold by the slice $2.50 ea.

Responses

  1. Could you send me the address or name. I am going to Princeville, Sept 1, I do not know how to Tweet. Thank you, Lynn jmdlduncan@aol.com

    • Aloha Lynn,

      Sorry it took me so long to get back with you but the little pop-up has closed already, not enough business. There is a nice coffee shop in Hanalei called Java Kai and it’s located in the little shopping center on the left side of the road as you enter town (two doors down from Bubba’s Burgers. Have a nice vacation it is very beautiful here now.

      Mahalo, Judith


Leave a Reply

Categories

